icons/stroked/arrow-lefticons/stroked/arrow-right

Fraud protection

It's good to know

When you become a Capital One customer, you receive a range of free services to help protect you against fraud and identity theft. You also benefit from our Fraud Protection Promise: to protect you from fraud, monitor your account and resolve any problems.

Online account servicing and passwords

Know what details to give

When you log in to any of your online accounts, don't enter any personal details if the site asks you for more information than usual. This could be an attempt at fraud, and you should alert your bank or card issuer straight away.

Variety is safer

Don't use the same username and password for all your internet accounts and services (including email accounts and social networking sites) as this makes it much easier for all your accounts to be attacked if that password becomes known.

Create a password that fraudsters are unlikely to guess or figure out

  • Use a combination of upper and lower case letters, numbers and symbols
  • Have different passwords for your different internet accounts and services (including email accounts and social networking sites)
  • Avoid using details that are easy to guess, or publically displayed on sites such as Facebook
  • Don't use anything obvious, like your date of birth
  • Never disclose your full passwords to anyone, especially when its unexpected or prompted by an email or unsolicited phone call

Public internet access

You need to stay safe whenever you use your card. Remember these tips below when you're using the internet in public places, such as coffee houses, hotels and restaurant.

Keep shopping to your personal devices

When you use public networks or computers you have no way of knowing if the computer is infected with malware or whether the network is secure. It's safer to shop online from home or on your phone, with security protection installed.

Always sign out

Don't leave a browser open or logged in to an account if you leave a public computer, sign off and shut down. If you leave yourself signed in, or save your sign-in details, your account is open to the next person who uses the computer.